Montreal, December 9, 2019 — Bianca Andreescu is concluding her historic 2019 season with one more win, as she becomes the 79th recipient of the Lou Marsh Trophy—an honour created in 1936 to recognize Canada’s athlete of year. The 19-year-old Ontarian is the first tennis player to receive the distinction, which is handed out by a panel of 30 sports journalists.

“Wow, I’m so thankful for this award. I was not expecting it and to be the first tennis player to win is even more surreal,” said Bianca Andreescu. “None of my success this year would have been possible without the support from all of Canada. Canadian sports crushed it this year so there are definitely many other athletes who deserve a piece of this award as well – we all motivate each other to be better. I can’t wait for what 2020 will bring and am always proud to represent Canada at the highest level.”

It was an unquestionably extraordinary season for Andreescu, who made Canadian tennis history. In September, she defeated all-time great Serena Williams in the US Open final to emerge as the first Canadian ever to win a Grand Slam singles title. A few weeks earlier, Bianca Andreescu became the first Canadian in 50 years to win Rogers Cup presented by National Bank.

The Canadian secured her first WTA title in March, when she stunned the tennis world and took the top honours in Indian Wells. Her three leading titles and 48-5 win-loss record this season helped her soar from No.152 to World No.4 (on October 21) in the WTA rankings and claim her place as the highest ranked women’s player in Canadian tennis history. In doing so, she surpassed Eugenie Bouchard, who climbed as high as World No.5 in 2014.

As the recipient of the 2019 Lou Marsh Trophy, Bianca Andreescu follows in the footsteps of freestyle skier Mikaël Kingsbury.

Recent winners of the Lou Marsh Trophy

2018 – Mikaël Kingsbury (freestyle skiing)
2017 – Joey Votto (baseball)
2016 – Penny Oleksiak (swimming)
2015 – Carey Price (hockey)
2014 – Kaillie Humphries (bobsleigh)
2013 – Jon Cornish (football)
2012 – Christine Sinclair (soccer)
2011 – Patrick Chan (figure skating)
2010 – Joey Votto (Baseball)
2009 – Sydney Crosby (hockey)